Home » Bad Grund – oldest town in the Oberharz and hiking experience centre
Bad Grund

Bad Grund – oldest town in the Oberharz and hiking experience centre

Five valleys with many hiking trails surround Bad Grund, the oldest of the Oberharz mountain towns.

Bath reason – spa with long tradition in the middle of green

Bad Grund was first mentioned as a forest site in 1317 and the surrounding forests subsequently developed into a area of iron ore mining. Since the middle of the 19th century the spa operation has increased steadily. Finally, in 1916, the previous reason was given the addition “Bad” and is now a state-approved spa resort, particularly known for its healing gallery therapy. The idyllic market place of Bad Grund is dominated by the slate covered Bergmannskirche St. Antonius, which got its present form in the middle of the 17th and at the end of the 19th century. From here you can start exciting walks where you can enjoy nature and its monuments while learning a lot about the geology of the Harz Mountains.

Hiking in the surroundings – on informative trails around the Iberg

Several hiking trails lead from the health centre into the relaxing landscape of the Harz National Park, all well fortified and marked. Above Bad Grund is the Iberg stalactite cavee with adventure centre. From the market you can comfortably walk over 2.5 kilometres to the cave, as the path is excellently signposted. First we go through the Teufelstal, in which a geological timeline provides exemplary information about all rock types of the Harz and thus covers 385 million years of earth history. Families with children can visit the fairytale valley and immerse themselves in the rich legendary world of the Harz.

The stalactite cave is part of an approximately eight-kilometre-long tunnel system, accessible are approximately 150 metres. Originating from a Devonian coral reef, the cave is one of the most unique places in Europe. It is the starting point for hikes around the Iberg, for example on the König-Hübig route. A golden crown shows the way and leads to the most beautiful vantage points. After a steep ascent you come to a crossroads with the inventive name Schweinebraten, but due to the steep incline, steep falls and partly overgrown former pits along the way you also need some sporting skills. We continue to the viewpoint Albertsturm, from where we can see all the way to Brocken, and to the equally panoramic Hübichenstein rock needle.

Bad Grund is thus the ideal destination for recreation seekers and nature lovers, captivates with a long history and hiking experiences for every interest. The town Clausthal-Zellerfeld is in the immediate vicinity.

Further links:
Bad Grund Iberg stalactite cave – Infos | Caves in the Harz | Albertsturm – Infos

This site is also available in: Deutsch Nederlands

X

Startseite » Bad Grund – älteste Stadt im Oberharz und Wandererlebnis-Zentrum
Harz Clausthal Bad Grund

Bad Grund – älteste Stadt im Oberharz und Wandererlebnis-Zentrum

Fünf Täler mit vielen Wanderwegen umgeben die älteste der Oberharzer Bergstädte.

Kurort mit langer Tradition mitten im Grünen

Bad Grund wurde erstmals 1317 als Forstort erwähnt und die umliegenden Wälder entwickelten sich in der Folge zu einem Gebiet des Abbaus von Eisenerz. Seit der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts nahm der Kurbetrieb stetig zu. 1916 schließlich bekam das bisherige Grund den Zusatz „Bad“ verliehen und ist heute ein staatlich anerkannter Kurort, besonders bekannt für seine Heilstollentherapie. Der idyllische Marktplatz von Bad Grund wird beherrscht von der schieferverkleideten Bergmannskirche St. Antonius, die ihre heutige Form in der Mitte des 17. und am Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erhielt. Von hier aus lassen sich erlebnisreiche Spaziergänge beginnen, auf denen man die Natur und ihre Denkmäler genießen und gleichzeitig viel über die Geologie des Harzes lernen kann.

Wandern in der Umgebung – auf informativen Wegen rund um den Iberg

Vom Gesundheitszentrum aus führen mehrere Wanderwege in die erholsame Landschaft des Nationalpark Harz, alle gut befestigt und markiert. Oberhalb von Bad Grund befindet sich die Iberger Tropfsteinhöhle mit Erlebniszentrum. Vom Markt aus kann man bequem über 2,5 Kilometer zur Höhle wandern, denn der Weg ist hervorragend ausgeschildert. Zunächst geht es durch das Teufelstal, in dem ein geologischer Zeitstrahl exemplarisch über alle Gesteinsarten des Harzes informiert und so 385 Millionen Jahre Erdgeschichte abdeckt. Familien mit Kindern können dem Märchental einen Besuch abstatten und in die reiche Sagenwelt des Harzes eintauchen.

Die Tropfsteinhöhle ist Teil eines etwa acht Kilometer langen Tunnelsystems, begehbar sind circa 150 Meter. Entstanden aus einem Korallenriff aus dem Devon, kann sich die Höhle zu einem der einzigartigsten Orte in Europa zählen. Sie ist Ausgangspunkt für Wanderungen rund um den Iberg, etwa auf der König-Hübig-Route. Eine goldene Krone weist den Weg und leitet zu den schönsten Aussichtspunkten. Nach steilem Aufstieg gelangt man hier zu einer Wegkreuzung mit dem einfallsreichen Namen Schweinebraten, braucht aber aufgrund der großen Steigung, Steilabstürze und teils überwachsenen ehemaligen Gruben am Wegesrand auch etwas sportliches Geschick. Weiter geht es zum Aussichtspunkt Albertsturm, von dem man bis zum Brocken schauen kann, und zur ebenfalls aussichtsreichen Felsnadel Hübichenstein.

Bad Grund somit ist das ideale Ausflugsziel für Erholungssuchende und Naturfreunde, besticht mit einer langen Geschichte und Wandererlebnissen für jedes Interesse.

Link zur Iberger Tropfsteinhöhle

Themen

error: