Cross-country skiing in the Harz Mountains - on skis through the snow-covered landscape of the Harz Mountains
Home » Cross-country skiing – on skis through the Harz Mountains
Cross-country skiing in the Harz Mountains

Cross-country skiing – on skis through the Harz Mountains

Cross-country skiers can look forward to a wide network of cross-country trails in the Harz mountains. A total of about 500 kilometres of track runs through the winter Harz landscape and partly connects villages with each other. During the more than 120-year-old skiing history of the Harz region, an excellent infrastructure for cross-country skiing has grown. Whether classic style or skating, whether experienced or untrained, the Oberharz has the right track for everyone. Cross-country skiing in the Harz Mountains is an experience for the whole family.

Skiing – Cross-country skiing in and around Clausthal-Zellerfeld

In today’s mountain town Clausthal-Zellerfeld the traditional history of Harz skiing began around 1870. At that time, young Norwegians were studying at the Clausthal Montanist school. They had brought with them snow-capable means of transport from their homeland, which they called skis, which roughly means split wood. On these boards they glided through the snow-covered Oberharz, whose cultural landscape is characterised by stately spruces as well as the ponds and watercourses of the Oberharzer Wasserregales.

Today, skiers will find around 35 kilometres of well-tracked trails in and around the climatic health resort, assuming the appropriate snow conditions. In clear winter weather, the family-suitable sun trail on the outskirts of Zellerfeld is particularly attractive because the sun can shine on the entire route. An easily accessible cross-country trail leads from Clausthal to the tranquil village of Buntenbock Buntenbock, where other skating trails and cross-country trails for classical style are prepared. Cross-country skiers can even reach Altenau from Hausherzberger Teich on a disused railway line. This track is certified as a premium track.

Cross-country skiing in the Harz Mountains – snow-covered mountain meadows and valleys

Altenau also offers excellent conditions for cross-country skiing on skis, as evidenced by the rolled ski trail over the Rosewiese with its panoramic views into the Großen Oker valley. A DSV premium cross-country ski trail connects the Altenau ski trails with the cross-country ski trail network of the Harz National Park. A few kilometres to the south the mountain town St. Andreasberg (St. Andreas Berg) lures with the probably snow-sure cross-country skiing area of Lower Saxony. Its cross-country trails lead up to 900 metres above sea level, through dense forests and over snow-covered mountain meadows. On the way, the cross-country skier is offered dreamlike views of the scenery of the National Park and Nature Park. The ski trail network is made up of routes with varying degrees of scenic variety and offers ambitious runners challenging day trips.

Braunlage cross-country skiing trails – in the winter sports centre of the Harz Mountains

As a winter sports centre of the Harz Mountains, Braunlage is also adapted to the needs of cross-country skiers. The probably first skier of the climatic health resort was Oberförster Arthur Ulrichs. He had heard of the snowworthy boards and had such snowshoes built in the winter of 1883/84 in order to inspect damage in the inaccessible forest. Apparently he liked this winter way of moving so much that he became involved in the proliferation of skiing. Already in 1892 the first local snowshoe club was founded. A few years later the “Oberharzer Skiklub” (OHSK) was founded in the Brockenhaus, which soon became an institution of German skiing.

Cross-country skiing in the Harz has a long tradition. Among the milestones on the region’s way to becoming a winter sports region were the traditional winter festivals of St. Andreasberg, the first ski race in 1897 and the bid to host the 1936 Olympic Games. On this basis, the area around Braunlage has developed into a paradise for cross-country skiers. The well signposted cross-country ski trail network extends to Hohegeiß, Torfhaus and Schierke and offers connection to the Südharzer cross-country ski trail network. With a suitable long up ski, the experienced skier with good condition can even climb the Brocken. The connecting trail to Schierker Loipennetz starts at the summit of Wurmberges.

When snow covers the bizarre landscape, bends the branches of the conifers and transforms weathered rock into fantastic formations, a stay in the Harz region is particularly attractive. Cross-country skiing on varied cross-country trails is a wonderful way to enjoy all the splendour.

For first attempts at walking on cross-country skis the cross-country ski run Sonnenloipe in Braunlage is ideal. In addition to plenty of sunshine and a wonderful view of the surrounding countryside, this circuit offers ideal conditions for beginners and can be used as a starting point for entering the extensive network of trails.

This site is also available in: deDeutsch nlNederlands

error:
X

Home » Langlauf – auf Skier durch den Harz
Langlauf im Harz

Langlauf – auf Skier durch den Harz

Ski-Langläufer dürfen sich im Harz auf ein weitverzweigtes Loipennetz freuen. Insgesamt etwa 500 Kilometer gespurte Loipe ziehen sich durch die winterliche Harzlandschaft und verbinden teilweise Ortschaften miteinander. Während der mehr als 120-jährigen Skisportschichte der Harzregion ist eine vorzügliche Infrastruktur für den Langlauf gewachsen. Egal ob klassischer Stil oder Skating, ob erfahren oder ungeübt, der Oberharz hält für jeden die passende Loipe bereit. Langlauf im Harz ist ein Erlebnis für die ganze Familie.

Skifahren – Langlauf in und um Clausthal-Zellerfeld

In der heutigen Bergstadt Clausthal-Zellerfeld nahm die traditionsreiche Geschichte des Harzer Skisports um 1870 ihren Anfang. Damals studierten junge Norweger an der montanistischen Lehranstalt Clausthal. Sie hatten schneetaugliche Fortbewegungsmittel aus der Heimat mitgebracht, die sie Ski nannten, was in etwa gespaltenes Holz bedeutet. Auf diesen Brettern glitten sie durch den verschneiten Oberharz, dessen Kulturlandschaft von stattlichen Fichten sowie den Teichen und Wasserläufen des Oberharzer Wasserregales geprägt ist.

Skifahrer heute finden in und um den Luftkurort rund 35 Kilometer gut gespurte Loipe vor, entsprechende Schneelage vorausgesetzt. Bei klarem Winterwetter ist die familientaugliche Sonnenloipe am Ortsrand von Zellerfeld besonders reizvoll, denn die Sonne kann auf die gesamte Strecke scheinen. Eine leicht zu befahrende Loipe führt von Clausthal in das beschauliche Fuhrherrendorf Buntenbock, wo weitere Skatingloipen und Loipen für den klassischen Stil präpariert sind. Auf einer stillgelegten Bahntrasse gelangen Langläufer sogar vom Hausherzberger Teich bis nach Altenau. Diese Bahntrassenloipe ist als Premiumloipe zertifiziert.

Langlauf im Harz – verschneite Bergwiesen und Täler

Altenau bietet ebenfalls hervorragende Bedingungen für den Langlauf auf Skiern, wovon auch der gewalzte Skiwanderweg über die aussichtsreiche Rosewiese ins Tal der Großen Oker zeugt. Eine DSV-Premiumloipe verbindet die Altenauer Skiwege mit dem Loipennetz des Nationalparks Harz. Wenige Kilometer südlich lockt die Bergstadt St. Andreasberg (St. Andreas Berg) mit dem wohl schneesichersten Langlaufgebiet Niedersachsens. Dessen Loipen führen bis in eine Seehöhe von 900 Metern, durch dichte Wälder und über verschneite Bergwiesen. Unterwegs bieten sich dem Langläufer immer wieder traumhafte Ausblicke auf die Kulisse von National- und Naturpark. Das Loipennetz setzt sich aus unterschiedlich schweren landschaftlich abwechslungsreichen Strecken zusammen und ermöglicht sportlich ambitionierten Läufern anspruchsvolle Tagestouren.

Braunlager Loipen – im Wintersportzentrum des Harzes

Als Wintersportzentrum des Harzes ist Braunlage auch auf die Bedürfnisse von Ski-Langläufern eingestellt. Der wahrscheinlich erste Skifahrer des Luftkurortes war Oberförster Arthur Ulrichs. Er hatte von den schneetauglichen Brettern gehört und ließ sich im Winter 1883/84 solche Schneeschuhe bauen, um Schäden im unzugänglichen Forst zu begutachten. Offenbar gefiel ihm diese winterliche Fortbewegungsart so sehr, dass er sich fortan für die Verbreitung des Skilaufens engagierte. Schon 1892 gründete sich der erste örtliche Schneeschuhverein. Wenige Jahre später erfolgte im Brockenhaus die Gründung des „Oberharzer Skiklubs“ (OHSK), der bald zu einer Institution des deutschen Skisports wurde.

Langlauf im Harz hat eine lange Tradition. Zu den Meilensteinen auf dem Weg der Region zum Wintersportgebiet gehörten unter anderem die traditionellen Winterfeste von St. Andreasberg, das erste Skirennen von 1897 und die Bewerbung als Austragungsort der Olympischen Spiele von 1936. Auf dieser Grundlage hat sich die Gegend um Braunlage zu einem Paradies für Skilangläufer entwickelt. Das gut beschilderte Loipennetz reicht bis nach Hohegeiß, Torfhaus und Schierke und bietet Anschluss an das Südharzer Loipennetz. Mit geeigneten Langsaufski kann der geübte, konditionsstarke Skifahrer sogar den Brocken erklimmen. Die Verbindungsloipe zum Schierker Loipennetz beginnt am Gipfel des Wurmberges.

Wenn Schnee die bizarre Landschaft bedeckt, die Zweige der Nadelbäume biegt und verwittertes Gestein in fantastische Gebilde verwandelt, ist ein Aufenthalt in der Harzregion besonders reizvoll. Beim Langlauf auf abwechslungsreichen Loipen lässt sich die ganze Pracht wunderbar genießen.

Für erste Gehversuche auf Langlaufski bietet sich die Sonnenloipe in Braunlage an. Neben reichlich Sonne und einen wunderschönen Blick auf die umliegende Landschaft bietet dieser Rundkurs ideale Bedingungen für Anfänger und kann als Ausgangspunkt für den Einstieg in das weitverzweigte Loipennetz genutzt werden.

Weiterführende Links:
Infos zu den Loipen DSV Loipenportal Harz | Schneeschuhwandern im Harz | Skifahren im Harz
error:

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies und ein Facebook Pixel zum Tracking des Nutzerverhaltens. Wenn Sie auf unseren Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich hiermit einverstanden. Weitere Informationen und eine Widerspruchsmöglichkeit finden Sie im Bereich Datenschutz

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen