Home » Walpurgis Night in the Harz Mountains
Walpurgis Night in the Harz Mountains

Walpurgis Night in the Harz Mountains

When witches and devils dance, then Walpurgis Night is in the Harz.

Walpurgis Night – to the witch party in the Harz

On Walpurgis Night in the Harz Mountains witches and devils are on their way. Most of the year the Harz inhabitants leave witch brooms, devil horns, horse feet and witch noses at home. But when the Harz Night of Nights begins on 30 April, they show their eerie, demon-like sides. Hexed or disguised, they move to their Blocksberg at dawn at the latest to celebrate the Witches’ Sabbath. Since ancient times the meeting places (mostly hills or mountains) have been called Blocksberg by witches, not only in the Harz Mountains. But there are a lot of them that are close to each other. In more than 20 places of the low mountain range Walpurgisnacht is celebrated extensively.

No celebration is like the other. The center of the witch’s cauldron lies in the Oberharz. Especially the witch parties of Braunlage, Bad Grund, Sankt Andreasberg, Schierke and Thale attract guests from near and far. Many don’t come as spectators, but join in the party. With their magic hats, pitchforks and cloaks, horrible devil grimaces, warts and hooked noses in the witch’s face, visitors are hardly distinguishable from locals. Obviously witches and devils did their mischief in the Harz for centuries. This is evidenced by local terms such as Hexentanzplatz, devil’s pulpit, devil’s wall, witch ride, devil’s hole and more.

About the History of Walpurgis Night in the Harz Mountains

Today’s Walpurgis celebrations go back to old customs and superstitions that existed before the concept of witches even existed. Even a poem from the 13th century tells of the Brockengipfel as a meeting place for ghosts. After Goethe Faust and Mephisto had the witches walk to the Brocken summit to dance with them, Walpurgis Night in the Harz became known nationwide. The Brocken became a synonym for Blocksberg. From 1896 organized Walpurgis night celebrations took place on the Brocken plateau with celebrations in the Brockenhotel and move to the Teufelskanzel. For all those who did not want to fly to the summit with a broom, special trains of the Brockenbahn ran from 1901. Although Owner of the Brocken Prince Stolberg-Wernigerode 1905 banned such celebrations from celebrating, they continued only two years later. From myths and poetry, Walpurgis Night has developed into a huge, colourful folk festival in the Harz mountains. The celebration will feature gnarled old and crunchy young witches, devilish figures in many variations and all sorts of fabulous magical creatures.

This site is also available in: Deutsch Nederlands

X

Home » Walpurgisnacht im Harz
Walpurgisnacht im Harz

Walpurgisnacht im Harz

Wenn Hexen und Teufel tanzen, dann ist Walpurgisnacht im Harz.

Walpurgisnacht – zur Hexenparty in den Harz

Zur Walpurgisnacht im Harz sind Hexen und Teufel los. Die meiste Zeit des Jahres lassen die Harzbewohner Hexenbesen, Teufelshörner, Pferdefuß und Hexennasen zu Hause. Doch wenn am 30. April die Harzer Nacht der Nächte anbricht, zeigen sie ihre schaurigen, dämonenhaften Seiten. Verhext oder verkleidet ziehen sie spätestens bei Einbruch der Dämmerung zu ihrem Blocksberg hin, um Hexensabbat zu feiern. Seit alten Zeiten werden die Versammlungsorte (meist Hügel oder Berge) von Hexen Blocksberg genannt, nicht nur im Harz. Nur gibt es hier besonders viele, die nah beieinanderliegen. In mehr als 20 Orten des Mittelgebirges wird ausgiebig Walpurgisnacht gefeiert.

Keine Feier ist wie die andere. Das Zentrum des Hexenkessels liegt im Oberharz. Vor allem die Hexenpartys von Braunlage, Bad Grund, Sankt Andreasberg, Schierke und Thale ziehen Gäste von nah und fern an. Viele kommen nicht als Zuschauer, sondern feiern mit. Mit ihren Zauberhüten Mistgabeln und Umhängen, fürchterlichen Teufelsfratzen, Warzen und Hackenasen im Hexengesicht unterscheiden sind Besucher kaum noch von Einheimischen. Offenbar trieben Hexen und Teufel jahrhundertelang ihr Unwesen im Harz. Davon zeugen Ortsbegriffe wie Hexentanzplatz, Teufelskanzel, Teufelsmauer, Hexenritt, Teufelsloch und mehr.

Über die Geschichte der Walpurgisnacht im Harz

Die heutigen Walpurgisfeiern gehen auf alte Bräuche und Aberglauben zurück, die bereits existierten, als es den Begriff Hexen noch gar nicht gab. Schon ein Gedicht aus 13. Jahrhundert erzählt vom Brockengipfel als Sammelplatz der Geisterwesen. Nachdem Goethe Faust und Mephisto zum Tanz mit den Hexen auf den Brockengipfel wandern lies, wurde die Walpurgisnacht im Harz überregional bekannt. Der Brocken wurde zum Synonym für Blocksberg. Ab 1896 fanden organisierte Walpurgisnachtfeiern auf dem Brockenplateau mit Feiern im Brockenhotel und Umzug zur Teufelskanzel statt. Für alle, die nicht mit dem Besen auf den Gipfel fliegen wollten, fuhren ab 1901 Sonderzüge der Brockenbahn. Obwohl Brockeneigentümer Fürst Stolberg-Wernigerode 1905 solcher Art feiern verbot, gingen diese schon zwei Jahre später weiter. Von Mythen und Dichtung hat sich die Walpurgisnacht zu einem riesigen, bunten Volksfest im Harz entwickelt. Zur Feier kommen knorrige alte und knackige junge Hexen, teuflische Gestalten in vielen Variationen und allerlei fabelhafte Zauberwesen.

error:

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies und ein Facebook Pixel zum Tracking des Nutzerverhaltens. Wenn Sie auf unseren Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich hiermit einverstanden. Weitere Informationen und eine Widerspruchsmöglichkeit finden Sie im Bereich Datenschutz

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen